October 19th Assignment

I’ve been involved with my internship now for over two months. My perception of the Center has not changed, but my own outlook has expanded, as I become more aware of the opportunities for global engagement. I continue to be surprised by the number of services offered by the Center and the number of relationships that the Center maintains with elite institutions around the world. These relationships create opportunities for students to study and participate in internships all over the world. Also, some of the connections facilitate transcontinental research collaborations between professors.

International Education Week occurs in November and I’ve been busy planning some activities for it. I’m very excited about an International Jeopardy Contest that I created on Power Point. It includes five rounds of play and incorporates audio, video, and photo files; and of course, many “Daily Doubles.” My favorite category in the game is called, “Do You Dare?” With this category, contestants must act out their answers in some manner. For instance, a question may be to “Name the national dance for Argentina (tango) and give a demonstration.” The Jeopardy contest will take place in the Student Union, so for the “Do You Dare?” category; contestants will have to act out their answers in front of everyone passing through the Student Union!

I imagine all internships and jobs have their boring or routine moments. I thought mine would be filing. However, as I file, it’s given me an opportunity to review the program proposals and agreements in the files, so filing has actually provided me with an overview of all the relationships between the Center and other institutions. Also, I’ve been keeping mental notes of the programs that appeal to me for future study abroad options!

Leave a Reply

