November 2nd Assignment

My internship site has been a “partner in my education” in several ways. I frequently work in the reception area, so I have become familiar with the types of clients handled by the Center and their needs. This has led me to a broader understanding of the Center’s global service offerings, as I learn to respond to common client questions.

In addition, the staff at my site have been very willing to give me overviews of their functional areas, and this helps me see how all the areas work together to meet the global engagement needs of the university and its students.

I have been active in International Education Week event planning and execution. Plus, I am managing all aspects of the International Jeopardy Game, which is a key event for this week. The intention for this game is that it both educates and entertains. The presentation is very sophisticated with audio and video files, so I had to develop advanced Power Point skills to produce the project. This presentation is a capstone-level project!

I’ve met many of my goals through these accomplishments and I want to get an even greater in-depth appreciation of the study abroad, internship and scholarship offerings available to students. I’ve helped out the Director of the Center by re-organizing his filing systems, and this has given me exposure to program proposals and institutional agreements. This has been a good introduction to the issues that must be covered in such proposals and agreements.

Overall, the internship is proceeding according to my expectations. I’m still learning and enjoying the opportunities to meet international students and other students who are looking for ways to engage globally!

Leave a Reply

