December 7th Assignment:

Career Assumptions and Job Skills

I am pleased to report that generally, my assumptions about my mentorship have been confirmed. I expected the Center to focus on helping students become “global citizens” and I’ve enjoyed meeting international students and students with an interest in study abroad. However, I was surprised that most of the study abroad students are preparing for careers in political, educational, or medical fields. I thought all students would be interested in study abroad. The Center is working to expand the number and diversity of students that study abroad by sponsoring fairs and multicultural events; and promoting study abroad scholarships.

To be successful in an international career field, it is important to have exposure to other cultures, which of course, is one of the benefits of study abroad. Also, excellent verbal, written, and interpersonal skills are essential to avoid cross-cultural confusion or conflict. In addition, fluency in multiple languages can be an advantage.

I’m really glad that I’ve had this opportunity to gain exposure to a university’s global center. Advances in technology have made the world much smaller and will require all occupations to become globally sophisticated.

Leave a Reply

